Find Books
Books, magazines, and other library materials related to Women's Studies can be found throughout the library collections due to the interdisciplinary nature of the subject. In general, to find books by or about an author, search for the author's last name using author browse or author keyword. Search with subject browse or subject keyword using any of these words: feminism, women, sex role, sexism or try your own words in a general keyword search.
Find Women's Studies Courses and Information on the WS minor at CSC
Off campus?
To get access to library resources when you are off campus, sign in here.
Find Online Encyclopedias for entries for Women's Studies
Start here for background research about your topic. Inform yourself of the basics before you enter the "conversation among experts" in scholarly journals.
- American National Biography OnlineBiographies of prominent Americans
- Credo ReferenceA collection of online Reference Books; find quick answers or in-depth background information
- Encyclopedia of Women's FolkloreEntries discuss the beliefs and customs defining the life of women around the world
- Funk & Wagnalls New World EncyclopediaProvides over 25000 encyclopedic entries
- Oxford Reference OnlineElectronic versions of some specialized reference titles
Find Print Encyclopedias for Language and Literature
Find these encyclopedias in the Reference Collection on the main floor of the library. These books cannot be checked out, so you'll have to do your research during library hours.
- Encyclopedia of Women Social ReformersCall Number: REF: HQ1236 .R29 2001
- Feminist Quotations : Voices of Rebels, Reformers, and VisionariesCall Number: REF: HQ1154 .F446
- Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues WorldwideCall Number: REF: HQ1115 .G74 2003
- International Encyclopedia of Women's SuffrageCall Number: REF: JF851 .H28 2000
- The Corset: A Cultural HistoryCall Number: Oversize GT2075 .S74 2001
- The Woman's Encyclopedia of Myths and SecretsCall Number: REF: BL458 .W34 1983
- The Women's Chronology : A Year-by-Year Record from Prehistory to the PresentCall Number: REF: HQ1122 .T73 1994
- Timelines of American Women's HistoryCall Number: REF: HQ1410 .H45 1996
- Women and American Television : An EncyclopediaCall Number: REF: PN1992.8.W65 L69 1999
- Women in Popular Culture : A Reference GuideCall Number: REF: HQ1426 .F685
- Women in World History : A Biographical EncyclopediaCall Number: REF: HQ1115 .W6 1999
Research Consultant |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Research Help @ Cleveland Library
Reference Desk Hours:
Mon - Thurs 9am - 9pm
Friday 9am - 6pm
Sunday 12pm - 9pm
Reference Desk Phone: 526-3687
Reference Staff:
Research Consultants: Beth Krajewski, Erica Webb, Merry Armentrout
College Librarian: Carrie Thomas
Reference Librarian: Sondra VanderPloeg
College Archivist: Kelli Bogan


Loading content... please wait
