This is the "Find Basics" page of the "Performing Arts (Theater and Dance) Resources at Cleveland Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Performing Arts (Theater and Dance) Resources at Cleveland Library  

Last Updated: Feb 21, 2012 URL: http://libguides.colby-sawyer.edu/THEATER_DANCE Print Guide

Find Basics Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Course Guides

Find Books

Theater and Dance books can be found in various areas of the library.
GV  Dance, Choreography

ML  Music, Musicians, Musical Theater

PN  Theater, Comedy, Acting

TT  Costume Design


GV's are shelved on the upper level  of the barn, ML and PN are on the main level, TT on the lower level.  Don't forget to check the Oversize and Reference Collections on the library's main level.
Try using "Subject Browse" from the drop-down menu with one of the following search terms:
•    Choreographers
•    Comedians
•    Dancing
•    Jazz dance
•    Theater
•    Musicals
•    Drama in education
•    Ballet
•    Costume Design
•    Acting

or try your own words in a general keyword search.  If you are searching for books on a particular artist, search by last name, for ex. Fosse, Bob.

Find online books and specialty encyclopedias for Performing Arts

Start here for some background information about your artist or creative work.  These resources will provide some historical and cultural context and help you figure out what key words to use when searching for articles and reviews.

  • ABC-CLIO E-Books
    search for your artist or browse subjects . . . popular culture, music and performing arts . . . these are e-books, available anytime (even when the library is closed).
  • African American Experience
    Search for background information on African American artists in the visual and performing arts.
  • American National Biography Online
    Biographies of prominent Americans
  • Cambridge Guide to Theatre
    This online encyclopedia is part of the CREDO Reference database . . . also available in print in the library Reference collection.
  • Grove Art Online
    A specialty database for art and art history, includes biographies, subject entries, images and timelines
  • Credo Reference
    Colby-Sawyer's answer to Wikipedia! Lots of specialty encyclopedias about music. Click on Find a Book and scroll down to Music for a listing of titles.
  • Oxford Reference: Performing Arts
    Online access to specialty encyclopedias about the performing arts.
  • Pop Culture Universe
    click on DECADES for links to overviews essays about particular topics and time periods. A great place to browse for topics
 

Find Print Encyclopedias for Performing Arts

Most of these are Reference Books that must be used in the library . . . find reference books on the main level, towards the back of the building, after you've passed by the HelpDesk, Archives, and the stairway to level 5.


International dictionary of theatre
Call Number: REF PN2035 .I49 1992

International encyclopedia of dance
Call Number: REF GV1585 .I586 1998
An excellent resource for background information on dancers, choreographers, dance history, and more.

McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of world drama
Call Number: REF PN1625 .M3 1984
Add some international context to your background research.

The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians
Call Number: REF ML100 .N48 2001
THE most respected, authoritative source for information about music.


 

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Sondra VanderPloeg
Contact Info
svanderploeg@colby-sawyer.edu
Room 301-F
Susan C. Cleveland Library
603-526-3375
svanderploeg@colby-sawyer.edu
Send Email
 

Off campus?

Need access off campus? 
Sign in to Juniper
.

 

Research Help @ Cleveland Library

Reference Desk

Monday - Thursday:

9am - 9pm

Friday: 9am - 6pm 

Sunday: 12noon - 9pm

Roving Reference @ Sawyer Center

Tuesdays: 12noon - 3:30pm

Stop by the desk or call 603-526-3687

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip