Sociology Course Guides
by Sondra VanderPloeg - last updated on Feb 3, 2012
This guide is designed to help you with the research portion of your Family Policy paper and class discussion in Prof. Carroll's SOC 203 class.
Find Books
Most sociology books are classified in the H's
HM General Sociology
HN Social History, Problems, & Reform
HQ Family, Marriage, Women
HT Communities, Classes, Races
HV Criminology
and can be found on the upper level of the barn, and in the Oversize and Reference Collections on the library's main level.
Try using "Subject Browse" from the drop-down menu with one of the following search terms:
• Aging
• Family
• Gender identity
• Genocide
• Marriage
• Parenting
• Poverty
• Race
• Sex role
• Social Groups
• Sociology
or try your own words in a general keyword search.
Off campus?
To get access to library resources when you are off campus, sign in here.
Find Online Books and Specialty Encyclopedias for Sociology
Start here for background research about your topic. Inform yourself before you enter the "conversation among experts" in scholarly journals. Remember, encyclopedias are only the beginning of the research process. Start here but don't stop here!
- African American ExperienceA full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of African Americans, as well as the greater Black Diaspora
- Credo ReferenceColby-Sawyer's answer to Wikipedia, includes 18 specialty reference books about Psychology
- Crime and Punishment: Essential Primary SourcesA focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Each title contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context.
- CQ ResearcherThis weekly source covers current and controversial issues of the day. It provides summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and more.
- eBooks on EBSCOhostA collection of e-books in many disciplines, including the social and natural sciences
- Encyclopedia of SociologyArticles covering core issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy and abortion have been updated and expanded, and completely new articles have been written on topics such as the Internet, privacy and epidemiology. Published 2001
- Pop Culture UniverseIcons | Idols | Ideas (PCU) digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present
- CQ Global Researcherin-depth coverage of global affairs from a number of international viewpoints. Available exclusively online, CQ Global Researcher offers focused, readable, single-topic reports on vital world issues. Written by seasoned journalists with years of international experience, these reports make use of such popular sections as "current situation," "pro-con," and a new feature called "voices from abroad."
- Polling the Nationsan online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 500,000+ questions and responses, from 14,000+ surveys, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world
Find Print Encyclopedias for Sociology
Find these encyclopedias in the library . . . they are in the Reference collection on the main floor and cannot be checked out, so you'll have to do your research during library hours. Remember, these encyclopedias are a good place to start your research, but don't stop with the information you find here, use it to guide your search for articles on your topic.
- Child DevelopmentCall Number: REF HQ772 .C436 2002
- Encyclopedia of AgeismCall Number: REF HQ1061 .E63 2005
- Encyclopedia of CommunityCall Number: REF HM756 .E53 2003
- Encyclopedia of Domestic ViolenceCall Number: REF HV6626 .E534 2007
- Encyclopedia of GenocideCall Number: REF HV6322.7 .E53 1999
- Encyclopedia of HomosexualityCall Number: REF HQ76.25 .E53 1990
- Extremist Groups: Information for StudentsCall Number: REF HN90.R3 E975 2006
- Handbook of Social PsychologyCall Number: REF HM 1011 .H37 2010
Reference Librarian |
Contact Info: svanderploeg@colby-sawyer.edu Room 301-F Susan C. Cleveland Library 603-526-3375 Send Email |
Research Consultant |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Research Help @ Cleveland Library
Reference Desk Hours:
Mon - Thurs 9am - 9pm
Friday 9am - 6pm
Sunday 12pm - 9pm
Reference Desk Phone: 526-3687
Reference Staff:
Research Consultants: Beth Krajewski, Erica Webb, Merry Armentrout
College Librarian: Carrie Thomas
Reference Librarian: Sondra VanderPloeg
College Archivist: Kelli Bogan




Loading content... please wait
