Find Books
Books on Religion or Religious Studies are found in the BL through BX range. These are on the top level of the library, nearest the group of student computers at the top of the stairs.
- BL World religions, mythology
- BL1900 Taoism
- BM Judaism
- BP Islam, Baha'i
- BQ Buddhism
- BR-BX Christianity, the Bible, theology, church history
Try browsing through these areas, or search the Library Catalog for keywords pertinent to your topic such as:
- Buddhist literature
- Branches in Islam
- Early Christian Church
- Creation
- Salvation
- Worship
- Heresy
- Taoism
Off campus?
To get access to library resources when you are off campus, sign in here.
Find Online Books and Specialty Encyclopedias for Subject
Start here for background research about your topic. Inform yourself before you enter the "conversation among experts" in scholarly journals. Remember, encyclopedias are only the beginning of the research process. Start here but don't stop here!
- Brill Dictionary of ReligionAddresses religion as an element of daily life and public discourse; richly illustrated and with more than 500 entries, the dictionary is a multi-media reference source on the many and various forms of religious commitment
- Credo ReferenceA collection of online Reference Books; find quick answers or in-depth background information
- World Religions DatabaseWorld Religions: Belief, Culture, and Controversy covers religion around the globe, from prehistory to the present
- Islamic Heritage ProjectHundreds of scanned documents on Islam - sponsored by Harvard University.
- Shade of Swords : Jihad and the Conflict between Islam and Christianitye-book that discusses the nature if jihad and the conflict between Islam and Christianity
- Prime-time religion: an encyclopedia of religious broadcastingDon't forget that there are encyclopedias around that address very specialized topics, like this one!
- eBooks on EBSCOhostA collection of e-books in many disciplines, including the social and natural sciences
Find Print Encyclopedias for Subject
Find these encyclopedias in the library . . . they are in the Reference collection on the main floor and cannot be checked out, so you'll have to do your research during library hours. Remember, these encyclopedias are a good place to start your research, but don't stop with the information you find here, use it to guide your search for articles on your topic.
- Encyclopedia of American ReligionsCall Number: BL2525 .M449 1996
- Encyclopedia of FundamentalismCall Number: BL238 .E63 2001
- Encyclopedia of Irish SpiritualityCall Number: BL980.I7 J47 2000
- Encyclopedia of Religion and NatureCall Number: BL65.N35 E53 2005
- Encyclopedia of Science and ReligionCall Number: BL240.3 .E53 2003
- Encyclopedia of Religion and WarCall Number: BL80.3 .E53 2004
Your Research Consultant |
Contact Info: Prof. Beth Krajewski teaches Religious Studies, assists with research and instruction at the Cleveland Library, and is studying for her Doctorate in Theology at the University of Wales. Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Research Help @ Cleveland Library
Reference Desk Hours:
Mon - Thurs 9am - 9pm
Friday 9am - 6pm
Sunday 12pm - 9pm
Reference Desk Phone: 526-3687
Reference Staff:
Research Consultants: Beth Krajewski, Erica Webb, Merry Armentrout
College Librarian: Carrie Thomas
Reference Librarian: Sondra VanderPloeg
College Archivist: Kelli Bogan



Loading content... please wait
