Philosophy Course Guides
Find Books
Philosophy books can be found in the B's, as noted below, or scattered about the library under the various subject areas about which the philosopher is writing. Keywords and Subjects can be searched in the Library Catalog to help you locate the book you need.
- B 1-99 General Philosophy
- B 108-708 Ancient Philosophy
- BC 1-199 Logic
- BD 10-701 includes Metaphysics, Epistemology, Methodology, Ontology and Cosmology
Here are some examples of Subject Browse searches that you can do to locate books in the and e-books that Colby-Sawyer has purchased for your use:
- Continental philosophy
- Epistemology
- Ethics
- Existentialism
- Feminist theory
- Logic
- Mathematics -- philosophy
- Metaphysics
- Ontology
- Phenomenology
- Philosophy, modern
- Postmodernism
- Science -- philosophy
- Structuralism
As with any search in the library catalog, the more keywords and search terms that you can try, the better results you will get.
Find Online Books and Specialty Encyclopedias for Philosophy
Start here for background research about your topic. Inform yourself before you enter the "conversation among experts" in scholarly journals. Remember, encyclopedias are only the beginning of the research process. Start here but don't stop here!
- Credo ReferenceA collection of online Reference Books; find quick answers or in-depth background information
- The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A peer-reviewed academic resource, browseable by topics. - The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field; they maintain academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. - eBooks on EBSCOhostSelect Philosophy from the list on the left to access 19 books on Philosophy available on line.
- Dictionary of World Philosophy

- Political Philosophy A-Z

- Philosophy of Science A-Z

- A Companion to Feminist PhilosophyAnother E-book accessible 24/7. Try it out!
- A Companion to EpistemologyA standard reference book, wtih alphabetically arranged articles on leading theories, thinkers, ideas, distinctions and concepts in epistemology, the philosophy of knowledge. Available on-line 24/7.
- A Philosophy of WarAnother e-book with articles on philosophical issues related to waging and defending in war.
Find Print Encyclopedias for Subject
Find these encyclopedias in the library . . . they are in the Reference collection on the main floor and cannot be checked out, so you'll have to do your research during library hours. Remember, these encyclopedias are a good place to start your research, but don't stop with the information you find here, use it to guide your search for articles on your topic.
- The Encyclopedia of Philosophy - Edwards, Paul, ed. in chiefCall Number: B41 .E58-volume encyclopedia with extensive articles on various subjects in philosophy.
- A Dictionary of Philosophy - Mautner, ThomasCall Number: B41 .M38 1996
- Concise Encyclopedia of PhilosophyCall Number: B51 .C58 2000
- Encyclopedia of Aesthetics - Kelly, Michael, ed. in chiefCall Number: BH56 .E53
- The Encyclopedia of EthicsCall Number: BJ63 .E45
Your Research Consultant |
Contact Info: Prof. Beth Krajewski teaches Religious Studies, assists at the Reference Desk at the CSC Library, and is studying for her Doctorate in Theology at the University of Wales. Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Research Help @ CSC Library
Reference Desk Hours:
Mon - Thurs 9am - 9pm
Friday 9am - 6pm
Saturday noon - 5pm
Sunday 1pm - 9pm
Reference Desk Phone: 526-3687
Reference Staff:
- Landon Hall,
- Beth Krajewski,
- Carrie Thomas (College Librarian),
- Sondra VanderPloeg,
- Kelli Bogan (College Archivist)
Off campus?
To get access to library resources when you are off campus, sign in here.



Loading content... please wait
