Nursing Course Guides
- NUR 203 - Introduction to Professional Nursing by Carrie Thomas
- Geriatric Resources for Nursing by Beth Krajewski
- NUR 336 Healthcare Research and Policy by Beth Krajewski
Find Books
Most Nursing and health-related books are classified in the R's
R- General medicine and history of medicine
RA - Public health, hospitals
RC - Internal medicine
RJ - Pediatrics
RT - Nursing
and can be found on the lower level of the barn, and in the Oversize and Reference Collections on the library's main level.
Try using "Subject Browse" from the drop-down menu with one of the following search terms:
- maternity nursing
- nursing diagnosis
- medical ethics
- pharmacology
Find Online Books and Specialty Resources for Nursing
Start here for background research about your topic. Inform yourself before you enter the "conversation among experts" in scholarly journals. Remember, encyclopedias are only the beginning of the research process. Start here but don't stop here!
- Access Science EncyclopediaFull-text science encyclopedia articles, biographies, bibliographies, videos, animations, news, study guides
- Credo ReferenceA collection of online Reference Books; find quick answers or in-depth background information
- Magill's Medical GuideOnline version: covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders
- Medcom Video Training ProgramsA series of short videos on a range wide of topics of interest to medicine, nursing and dentistry; topics range widely from nurse-patient communications to the practical aspects of preventing medical errors to the fundamentals of fluids and electrolytes
- Nursing Reference CenterPoint-of-care resource intended for staff nurses, nurse administrators, nursing students, nurse faculty, and hospital librarians. It delivers the best available and most recent clinical evidence and knowledge on conditions and diseases via a nursing-specific graphical interface
Find Print Encyclopedias for Nursing
Find these encyclopedias in the library . . . they are in the Reference collection on the main floor and cannot be checked out, so you'll have to do your research during library hours. Remember, these encyclopedias are a good place to start your research, but don't stop with the information you find here, use it to guide your search for articles on your topic.
- Child DevelopmentCall Number: Ref HQ772 .C436 2002
- Nursing 2012 drug handbookCall Number: Ref RM 301.12 .N87 2011
- Health in the Americas, 2007Call Number: Ref RA 407.5 .L3 P18 2007
- Magill's Medical GuideCall Number: Reference RC 41 .M34 2011
- Nursing Diagnosis HandbookCall Number: Ref RT48.6 A35 2006
- Understanding diseasesCall Number: Ref RT 65 .U53 2008
Off campus?
To get access to library resources when you are off campus, sign in here.
Research Help @ CSC Library
Reference Desk Hours:
Mon - Thurs 9am - 9pm
Friday 9am - 6pm
Saturday 1 pm - 5pm
Sunday noon - 9pm
Reference Desk Phone: 526-3687
Reference Email: reference@colby-sawyer.edu
Reference Staff:
Landon Hall
Beth Krajewski
Erica Webb
Carrie Thomas (College Librarian)
Sondra VanderPloeg (Reference Librarian)
Kelli Bogan (College Archivist)


Loading content... please wait
