This is the "Find Basics" page of the "NUR 336 Healthcare Research and Policy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

NUR 336 Healthcare Research and Policy  

Last Updated: May 15, 2012 URL: http://libguides.colby-sawyer.edu/NUR336 Print Guide

Find Basics Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find Books

Most Nursing and health-related books are classified in the R's
R-   General medicine and history of medicine
RA - Public health, hospitals
RC - Internal medicine 
RJ - Pediatrics  
RT - Nursing

and can be found on the lower level  of the barn, and in the Oversize and Reference Collections on the library's main level.

Try using "Subject Browse" from the drop-down menu with one of the following search terms:

  • maternity nursing
  • nursing diagnosis
  • medical ethics
  • pharmacology

Find Online Books and Specialty Resources for Nursing

Start here for background research about your topic.  Inform yourself before you enter the "conversation among experts" in scholarly journals.  Remember, encyclopedias are only the beginning of the research process.  Start here but don't stop here!

  • Magill's Medical Guide
    Online version: covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders
  • Access Science Encyclopedia
    Full-text science encyclopedia articles, biographies, bibliographies, videos, animations, news, study guides
  • Credo Reference
    A collection of online Reference Books; find quick answers or in-depth background information
  • Nursing Reference Center
    Point-of-care resource intended for staff nurses, nurse administrators, nursing students, nurse faculty, and hospital librarians. It delivers the best available and most recent clinical evidence and knowledge on conditions and diseases via a nursing-specific graphical interface
  • Medcom Video Training Programs
    A series of short videos on a range wide of topics of interest to medicine, nursing and dentistry; topics range widely from nurse-patient communications to the practical aspects of preventing medical errors to the fundamentals of fluids and electrolytes
 

  Find Print Encyclopedias for Nursing

Find these encyclopedias in the library . . . they are in the Reference collection on the main floor and cannot be checked out, so you'll have to do your research during library hours.  Remember, these encyclopedias are a good place to start your research, but don't stop with the information you find here, use it to guide your search for articles on your topic.

Child Development
Call Number: Ref HQ772 .C436 2002

Health in the Americas, 2007
Call Number: Ref RA 407.5 .L3 P18 2007

Nursing 2010 drug handbook
Call Number: Ref RS51 .N87 2010

Magill's Medical Guide
Call Number: Reference RC 41 .M34 2011

Nursing Diagnosis Handbook
Call Number: Ref RT48.6 A35 2006

Understanding diseases
Call Number: Ref RT 65 .U53 2008

 

Your Library Research Consultant

Profile Image
Beth Krajewski
Contact Info
Prof. Beth Krajewski teaches Religious Studies, assists at the Reference Desk at the CSC Library, and is studying for her Doctorate in Theology at the University of Wales.
Send Email
 

Research Help @ CSC Library

Reference Desk Hours: 

Mon - Thurs 9am - 9pm

Friday          9am - 6pm 

Saturday      noon - 5pm  

Sunday        1pm - 9pm

Reference Desk Phone:  526-3687

Reference Email: reference@colby-sawyer.edu

Reference Staff:

Landon Hall

Beth Krajewski

Erica Webb

Carrie Thomas (College Librarian)

Sondra VanderPloeg

Kelli Bogan (College Archivist)


 

Off campus?

Need access off campus? 
Sign in to Juniper
.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip