History Course Guides
Find Books
Most history books are classified under CB (History of Civilization), D (World), E and F (American), and can be found on the upper level of the barn, and in the Reference Collection on the library's main level.
To search for a book, click on the Library Catalog link below. Use the General Keyword search function for the broadest keyword level search, which is most similar to using a search engine like Google.
Find History Courses and the History Department at CSC
Find Online Encyclopedias for entries on history
Start here for background research about your topic. Inform yourself of the basics before you enter the "conversation among experts" in scholarly journals.
- American National Biography OnlineBiographies of prominent Americans
- Credo ReferenceA collection of online Reference Books; find quick answers or in-depth background information
- Funk & Wagnalls New World EncyclopediaProvides over 25000 encyclopedic entries
- Oxford Reference OnlineElectronic versions of some specialized reference titles
- CQ Global Researcherin-depth coverage of global affairs from a number of international viewpoints. Available exclusively online, CQ Global Researcher offers focused, readable, single-topic reports on vital world issues. Written by seasoned journalists with years of international experience, these reports make use of such popular sections as "current situation," "pro-con," and a new feature called "voices from abroad."
Find Print Encyclopedias for History
Find these encyclopedias in the Reference Collection on the main floor of the library. These books cannot be checked out, so you'll have to do your research during library hours.
- Chronology of World HistoryCall Number: REF: D11.M39 1999
- Encyclopedia of Cuba: People, History, CultureCall Number: REF: F 1754 .E53 2003
- Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe: from the Congress of Vienna to the Fall of CommunismCall Number: REF: DJK .E53 2000
- Encyclopedia of Politics and ReligionCall Number: REF: BL65.P7 E53 2007
- Encyclopedia of the EnlightenmentCall Number: REF: D286 .D52813 2001
- Encyclopedia of the Korean War: A Political, Social, and Military HistoryCall Number: REF: DS918 .E53 2000
- Encyclopedia of the Lewis and Clark ExpeditionCall Number: REF: F592.7 .W68 2004
- Handbook for Research in American HistoryCall Number: Z 1236 .P78 1994
- Iran Today: An Encyclopedia about Life in the Islamic RepublicCall Number: REF: DS 253 .I69 2008
- New Encyclopedia of AfricaCall Number: REF: DT2 .N48 2008
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United StatesCall Number: REF: E184.S75 097 2005
- The Encyclopedia of New England: the Culture and History of an American RegionCall Number: REF: FA .E53 2005
- The Encyclopedia of PakistanCall Number: REF: DS 376.8. .E53 2006ISBN: 9780195977356
College Archivist |
Contact Info: Kelli Bogan Cleveland Colby Colgate Archives Colby-Sawyer College 541 Main St. New London, NH 603-526-3360 Send Email |
Reference Librarian |
Contact Info: svanderploeg@colby-sawyer.edu Room 301-F Susan C. Cleveland Library 603-526-3375 Send Email |
Find Help
Reference Desk Hours:
Mon - Thurs 9am - 9pm
Friday 9am - 5pm
Saturday 1pm - 5pm
Sunday 1pm - 9pm
Reference Desk Phone: 526-3687
Reference Staff: Wende Brock, Landon Hall, Beth Krajewski, Carrie Thomas (College Librarian), Sondra VanderPloeg, Kelli Bogan (College Archivist)




Loading content... please wait
