Course Guides in Health Studies
Find Books
Most health-related books are classified in the R's
R- General medicine and history of medicine
RA - Public health, hospitals
RC - Internal medicine
RJ - Pediatrics
RT - Nursing
Try using "Subject Browse" from the drop-down menu with any of the following search terms:
- allied health personnel
- alternative medicine
- delivery of health care
- health care reform
- health promotion
- medical ethics
- medical policy
- public health
Off campus?
To get access to library resources when you are off campus, sign in here.
Find Online Books and Specialty Resources for Health Studies
Start here for background research about your topic. Inform yourself before you enter the "conversation among experts" in scholarly journals. Remember, encyclopedias are only the beginning of the research process. Start here but don't stop here!
- Credo ReferenceA collection of online Reference Books; find quick answers or in-depth background information
- Access Science EncyclopediaFull-text science encyclopedia articles, biographies, bibliographies, videos, animations, news, study guides
- Encyclopedia of medical anthropologyDescribes the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and provides an overview of important topics in medical anthropology.
- Encyclopedia of the human genomeThe Encyclopedia of the Human Genome (EHG) is devoted to the scientific basis of human genetics and genomics research and its ethical, philosophical, and commercial ramifications.
Find Print Encyclopedias for Health Studies
Find these encyclopedias in the library . . . they are in the Reference collection on the main floor and cannot be checked out, so you'll have to do your research during library hours. Remember, these encyclopedias are a good place to start your research, but don't stop with the information you find here, use it to guide your search for articles on your topic.
- Encyclopedia of public healthCall Number: Reference RA423 .E53 20024 volume encyclopedia addressing the programs, services, organizations and individuals dedicated to supporting efforts to provide healthcare worldwide.
- Encyclopedia of medicine, nursing and allied healthCall Number: Reference R121 .M65 2005
- Understanding diseasesCall Number: Ref RT 65 .U53 2008
- Health Economics - Phelps, CharlesCall Number: RA 410 .P48 2010
- Health and health care 2010 : the forecast, the challenge - Amara, RoyCall Number: Over RA445 .H3364 2003
- Magill's Medical GuideCall Number: Reference RC 41 .M34 2011
- New age encyclopedia : a guide to the beliefs, concepts, terms, people, and organizations that make up the new global movement toward spiritual development, health and healing, higher consciousness, and related subjectsCall Number: Reference BP605.N48 M43
Subject Guide |
Contact Info: Prof. Beth Krajewski teaches Religious Studies, assists with research and instruction at the Cleveland Library, and is studying for her Doctorate in Theology at the University of Wales. Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Research Help @ Cleveland Library
Reference Desk Hours:
Mon - Thurs 9am - 9pm
Friday 9am - 6pm
Sunday 12pm - 9pm
Reference Desk Phone: 526-3687
Reference Staff:
Research Consultants: Beth Krajewski, Erica Webb, Merry Armentrout
College Librarian: Carrie Thomas
Reference Librarian: Sondra VanderPloeg
College Archivist: Kelli Bogan



Loading content... please wait
