Find Books
Most health-related books are classified in the R's
R- General medicine and history of medicine
RA - Public health, hospitals
RC - Internal medicine
and can be found on the lower level of the barn, and in the Oversize and Reference Collections on the library's main level.
Books on psychology and mental health may also be found in the BFs on the 5th level, top floor of the library.
Try using "Subject Browse" from the drop-down menu with one of the following search terms:
- allied health personnel
- health care reform
- health promotion
- medical ethics
- medical policy
- mental health
- mental illness
- public health
Off campus?
To get access to library resources when you are off campus, sign in here.
Find Online Books and Specialty Resources for Health Studies
Start here for background research about your topic. Inform yourself before you enter the "conversation among experts" in scholarly journals. Remember, encyclopedias are only the beginning of the research process. Start here but don't stop here!
- The Corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral science. Vol. 1-4A concise and handy reference to contemporary information on mental health issues.
- Credo ReferenceA collection of online Reference Books; find quick answers or in-depth background information
- eBooks on EBSCOhostSelect "Health and Medicine" from the subject list on the left side of the screen to access 73 on-line textbooks for research work.
Find Print Encyclopedias for Health Studies
Find these encyclopedias in the library . . . they are in the Reference collection on the main floor and cannot be checked out, so you'll have to do your research during library hours. Remember, these encyclopedias are a good place to start your research, but don't stop with the information you find here, use it to guide your search for articles on your topic.
- Encyclopedia of public healthCall Number: Reference RA423 .E53 20024 volume encyclopedia addressing the programs, services, organizations and individuals dedicated to supporting efforts to provide healthcare worldwide.
- Encyclopedia of medicine, nursing and allied healthCall Number: Reference R121 .M65 2005
- Health and healthcare in the United States : county and metro area data.Call Number: Reference RA407.3 .H415
- Encyclopedia of PsychologyCall Number: Reference BF31 .E52 1994
- Magill's Medical GuideCall Number: Reference RC 41 .M34 2011
CRAAP Detection
What are you looking for in a source?
C=Currency. When was the article, book, or website published? Is it up to date? Does it matter for your topic? Why?
R=Relevance. How close does this material come to discussing your actual topic? Does it present a broad overview? Does it zero in on a very specific topic? Is the book/article exclusively about your topic or were only parts of it relevant for you?
A=Authority. Who is the author or editor of the book/journal/website? What are his/her Institutional affiliations and/or job title? Educational background or experience?
A=Accuracy. Can you verify the facts that you find in this source? Have they backed themselves up with convincing evidence? Can you confirm the information in another source? Are sources for facts cited?
P=Purpose. Why was this book/article written, or this web site created? Is it giving information, selling a product, or persuading you to agree with an opinion? Is the author’s point of view objective and impartial? Is emotional language used?
Subject Guide |
Contact Info: Prof. Beth Krajewski teaches Religious Studies, assists with research and instruction at the Cleveland Library, and is studying for her Doctorate in Theology at the University of Wales. Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Research Help @ CSC Library
Reference Desk Hours:
Mon - Thurs 9am - 9pm
Friday 9am - 6pm
Saturday noon - 5pm
Sunday 1pm - 9pm
Reference Desk Phone: 526-3687
Reference Email: reference@colby-sawyer.edu
Reference Staff:
Landon Hall
Beth Krajewski
Carrie Thomas (College Librarian)
Sondra VanderPloeg
Kelli Bogan (College Archivist)



Loading content... please wait
