Find online videos
- Academic Video OnlineFind animation, documentaries, newsreels and more on every possible topic related to Government.
Subject Course Guides
Use the links below to get to Course Guides designed to help you find resources for research assigments in Professor Eric Boyer's government classes.
- GOV 100 by Sondra VanderPloeg
Find Books
Most government books are classified in:
D History: Europe, Asia, Africa
E History: American (Western Hemisphere)
G Geography
J Political Science
K Law
and can be found on the upper level of the barn, and in the Oversize and Reference Collections on the library's main level.
Try using "Subject Browse" from the drop-down menu with one of the following search terms:
• Democracy
• Comparative Government
• Political Science
• World politics
• United States - Politics and Government
or try your own words in a general keyword search.
Off campus?
To get access to library resources when you are off campus, sign in here.
Find Online Books and Specialty Encyclopedias for Government
Start here for background research about your topic. Inform yourself before you enter the "conversation among experts" in scholarly journals. Remember, encyclopedias are only the beginning of the research process. Start here but don't stop here!
- African American ExperienceA full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of African Americans, as well as the greater Black Diaspora
- CQ Global Researcherin-depth coverage of global affairs from a number of international viewpoints. Available exclusively online, CQ Global Researcher offers focused, readable, single-topic reports on vital world issues. Written by seasoned journalists with years of international experience, these reports make use of such popular sections as "current situation," "pro-con," and a new feature called "voices from abroad."
- CQ ResearcherThis is a subscription Database, paid for with your CSC tuition $$'s. It contains weekly reports covering current and controversial issues of the day. Includes summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and more.
- Credo ReferenceColby-Sawyer's answer to Wikipedia! try the concept search when you want to brainstorm for topics.
- eBooks on EBSCOhostA collection of e-books in many disciplines, including the social and natural sciences
- World at WarClick on WARS for an overview of conflicts covered, IDEA EXCHANGE for conversations between scholars, or try an advanced search for your topic
Find Print Encyclopedias for Government
Find these encyclopedias in the library . . . they are in the Reference collection on the main floor and cannot be checked out, so you'll have to do your research during library hours. Remember, these encyclopedias are a good place to start your research, but don't stop with the information you find here, use it to guide your search for articles on your topic.
- Iran Today: An Encyclopedia of Life in the Islamic RepublicCall Number: DS 253 .I69 2008
- Encyclopedia of PakistanCall Number: DS 376.8 .E53 2006
- Greenwood Encyclopedia of Children's Issues WorldwideCall Number: HQ 767.84 .G74 2008
- Statesman's YearbookCall Number: JA 51 .S7
- Historical Dictionary of the People's Republic of ChinaCall Number: DS777.55 .S835 2007
- New Encyclopedia of AfricaCall Number: DT2 .N48 2008
- Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues WorldwideCall Number: HQ1115 .G74 2003
Reference Librarian |
Contact Info: svanderploeg@colby-sawyer.edu Room 301-F Susan C. Cleveland Library 603-526-3375 Send Email |
Research Help @ Cleveland Library
Reference Desk Hours:
Mon - Thurs 9am - 9pm
Friday 9am - 6pm
Sunday 12pm - 9pm
Reference Desk Phone: 526-3687
Reference Staff:
Research Consultants: Beth Krajewski, Erica Webb, Merry Armentrout
College Librarian: Carrie Thomas
Reference Librarian: Sondra VanderPloeg
College Archivist: Kelli Bogan



Loading content... please wait
