This is the "Find Basics" page of the "General Research Resources @ CSC Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

General Research Resources @ CSC Library  

general research databases, online encyclopedias, statistics
Last Updated: Feb 9, 2012 URL: http://libguides.colby-sawyer.edu/GENERALRESEARCH Print Guide

Find Basics Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find Books & Videos

To find books about your topic at the library, click on the link below and search the catalog.  You can search by general keyword, title, author (last name, first name), subject. 

Which letters go with my subject?

The books at SC Cleveland Library are organized by the Library of Congress classification. Identify the letter that goes with your subject, find your way to the library shelves for your subject, and browse to your heart's content!

Don't forget to check the Oversize, Reference, and Media collections for resources in your topic area too.

Find Online Books and Specialty Encyclopedias

Start here for background research about your topic.  Inform yourself before you enter the "conversation among experts" in scholarly journals.  Remember, encyclopedias are only the beginning of the research process.  Start here but don't stop here!

  • ABC-CLIO E-Books
    Search the e-books that are covered in Daily Life Through History, Pop Culture Universe, The African American Experience, The American Indian Experience, and World at War
  • Access Science Encyclopedia
    Full-text science encyclopedia articles, biographies, bibliographies, videos, animations, news, study guides
  • CQ Researcher
    This is a subscription Database, paid for with your CSC tuition $$'s. It contains weekly reports covering current and controversial issues of the day. Includes summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and more.
  • CQ Global Researcher
    Covers current and controversial issues around the world; provides summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and more
  • Credo Reference
    Colby-Sawyer's answer to Wikipedia, try the concept search to brainstorm related topics
  • eBooks on EBSCOhost
    A collection of e-books in many disciplines, including the social and natural sciences
  • Grove Art Online
    More than 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, 500,000 bibliographic citations, 40,000 image links and 5,000 images, also includes thematic timelines
  • Literary Reference Center
    Comprehensive literary reference database, provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. Combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else
  • Oxford English Dictionary
    Published by the Oxford University Press
  • American National Biography Online
    An online encyclopedia of over 17,400 biographies of American women and men who have shaped American life.
  • Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
    This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
  • Oxford Reference Online
    A collection of online Reference Books on dozens of subject areas.
  • Pop Culture Universe
    Icons | Idols | Ideas (PCU) digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present
 

CRAAP Detection

What are you looking for in a source?

C=Currency.  When was the article, book, or website published?  Is it up to date?  Does it matter for your topic?  Why?

R=Relevance. How close does this material come to discussing your actual topic?  Does it present a broad overview? Does it zero in on a very specific topic?  Is the book/article exclusively about your topic or were only parts of it relevant for you?

A=Authority. Who is the author or editor of the book/journal/website? What are his/her Institutional affiliations and/or job title? Educational background or experience? 

A=Accuracy. Can you verify the facts that you find in this source? Have they backed themselves up with convincing evidence?  Can you confirm the information in another source?  Are sources for facts cited?

P=Purpose.  Why was this book/article written, or this web site created?  Is it giving information, selling a product, or persuading you to agree with an opinion?  Is the author’s point of view objective and impartial?  Is emotional language used?

 

Off campus?

Need access off campus? 
Sign in to Juniper
.

 

Research Help @ Cleveland Library

Reference Desk

Monday - Thursday: 9am - 9pm

Friday: 9am - 6pm 

Sunday: 12noon - 9pm

Roving Reference @ Sawyer Center

Tuesdays: 12noon - 3:30pm

Stop by the desk or call 603-526-3687

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip