Subject Course Guides
by Carrie Thomas - last updated on Jan 6, 2012
Researching systemic diseases and general prinicples of pharmacology
by Sondra VanderPloeg, Kim Sauerwein - last updated on Jan 23, 2012
Off campus?
To get access to library resources when you are off campus, sign in here.
Find Books
Exercise sport sciences books are classified in the GV's, Qs, and R's
GV Recreation. Leisure
QM Human Anatomy
QP Physiology
RA Physical Fitness
RC Sports Medicine
RM Rehabilitation Therapy
and can be found on the upper level of the barn (GV), main level (Q's) and lower level (R's). Don't forget to check the Oversize and Reference Collections on the library's main level.
Try using "Subject Browse" from the drop-down menu with one of the following search terms:
• Athletes
• Recreation
• Sports
• Exercise
• Exercise Physiology
• Exercise Therapy
• Sports Medicine
• Physical Fitness
• Biomechanics
• Human Mechanics
• Physical Education and training
• Sports – psychological aspects
or try your own words in a general keyword search.
Find Online Books and Specialty Encyclopedias for Exercise and Sport Sciences
Start here for background research about your topic. Inform yourself before you enter the "conversation among experts" in scholarly journals. Remember, encyclopedias are only the beginning of the research process. Start here but don't stop here!
Resources for Athletic
Training and Exercise Science are listed BEFORE resources for Sport
Management.
- Access Science EncyclopediaFull-text science encyclopedia articles, biographies, bibliographies, videos, animations, news, study guides
- Credo ReferenceColby-Sawyer's answer to Wikipedia, includes 18 specialty reference books about Psychology
- eBooks on EBSCOhostA collection of e-books in many disciplines, including the social and natural sciences
- Magill's Medical GuideOnline version: covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders
- Pop Culture UniverseIcons | Idols | Ideas (PCU) digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present
- Rehabilitation Reference CenterFrom EBSCO, an evidence-based, clinical reference tool for use at point-of-care
- SBRnetMarket research and industry news covering all facets of the industry: sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and sports marketing
Find Print Encyclopedias for Exercise & Sport Sciences
Find these encyclopedias in the library . . . they are in the Reference collection on the main floor and cannot be checked out, so you'll have to do your research during library hours. Remember, these encyclopedias are a good place to start your research, but don't stop with the information you find here, use it to guide your search for articles on your topic.
Resources for Athletic Training and Exercise Science are listed BEFORE resources for Sport Management.
- Magill's Medical GuideCall Number: REF RC 41 .M34 2008
- The Encyclopedia of the Muscle and Skeletal Systems and DisordersCall Number: REF RC925.5 .S29 2005
- Mosby's Handbook of Anatomy and PhysiologyCall Number: REF QP35 .P385 2000
- Atlas of PathophysiologyCall Number: REF RB113 .A87 2006
- Gray's AnatomyCall Number: REF QP35 .P385 2000
- Sports and the Physically ChallengedCall Number: REF GV 709.3 .N37 2006
- Encyclopedia of Sports ScienceCall Number: REF GV558 .E53 1997
- International Encyclopedia of Women and SportsCall Number: REF GV709 .I58 2001
- Encyclopedia of World SportCall Number: REF GV567 .B48 2005
- Sports Marketplace DirectoryCall Number: REF 9992 .U5 S667 2010
- Fundamentals of Sports LawCall Number: REF KF3989 .C47 2004
Reference Librarian |
Contact Info: svanderploeg@colby-sawyer.edu Room 301-F Susan C. Cleveland Library 603-526-3375 Send Email |
College Librarian |
Research Help @ Cleveland Library
Reference Desk Hours:
Mon - Thurs 9am - 9pm
Friday 9am - 6pm
Sunday 12pm - 9pm
Reference Desk Phone: 526-3687
Reference Staff:
Research Consultants: Beth Krajewski, Erica Webb, Merry Armentrout
College Librarian: Carrie Thomas
Reference Librarian: Sondra VanderPloeg
College Archivist: Kelli Bogan



Loading content... please wait
