Find online Videos about Environmental Studies
- Academic Video OnlineNewsreels, animation, documentaries . . . search for a specific subject or browse the collections. You can embed links to these videos into a presentation too!
Environmental Studies Course Guides
Find Books
Books about Environmental topics are classified in various areas:
GE Environmental Sciences
QH Ecology
TD Environmental Protection
HB Population
and can be found on the upper level of the barn (GE, HB), on the library's main level (QH) and lower level (TD). Don't forget to check the Oversize, AV, and Reference Collections as well.
Try using "Subject Browse" from the drop-down menu with one of the following search terms:
• Ecology
• Environmental policy
• Environmental protection
• Sustainable development
• Global warming
• Climactic changes
• Nature
• Human ecology
• Natural history
or try your own words in a general keyword search.
Find Online Books and Specialty Encyclopedias for Environmental Studies
Start here for background research about your topic. Inform yourself before you enter the "conversation among experts" in scholarly journals. Remember, encyclopedias are only the beginning of the research process. Start here but don't stop here!
- Access Science EncyclopediaFull-text science encyclopedia articles, biographies, bibliographies, videos, animations, news, study guides
- CQ Global Researcherin-depth coverage of global affairs from a number of international viewpoints. CQ Global Researcher offers focused, readable, single-topic reports on vital world issues. Written by seasoned journalists with years of international experience, these reports make use of such popular sections as "current situation," "pro-con," and a new feature called "voices from abroad."
- CQ ResearcherThis is a subscription Database, paid for with your CSC tuition $$'s. It contains weekly reports covering current and controversial issues of the day. Includes summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and more.
- Credo ReferenceColby-Sawyer's answer to Wikipedia, try the concept search to brainstorm related topics
- eBooks on EBSCOhostA collection of e-books in many disciplines, including the social and natural sciences
- Oxford Reference OnlineA collection of online Reference Books on dozens of subject areas.
Find Print Encyclopedias for Environmental Studies
Find these encyclopedias in the library . . . they are in the Reference collection on the main floor and cannot be checked out, so you'll have to do your research during library hours. Remember, these encyclopedias are a good place to start your research, but don't stop with the information you find here, use it to guide your search for articles on your topic.
- AAAS Atlas of Population & EnvironmentCall Number: HB849.415 .H374 2000
- Clean Air HandbookCall Number: REF KF3812 .M69 2005
- Clean Water HandbookCall Number: REF KF3790 .G35 2003
- Environmental Literature: An EncyclopediaCall Number: REF GE35 .E58 1999
- Environmental Resource HandbookCall Number: REF GE20 .E586
- New England Wildlife: Habitat, natural history, and distributionCall Number: REF QL157.N48 D4 2001
- New Hampshire Environmental StatutesCall Number: REF KF3775 .M49 2005
- Our Earth's Changing LandsCall Number: REF GF90 .O87 2006
- Wiley Encyclopedia of Environmental Pollution and CleanupCall Number: REF TD173 .E53 1999
Reference Librarian |
Contact Info: svanderploeg@colby-sawyer.edu Room 301-F Susan C. Cleveland Library 603-526-3375 Send Email |
Research Help @ Cleveland Library
Reference Desk Hours:
Mon - Thurs 9am - 9pm
Friday 9am - 6pm
Sunday 12pm - 9pm
Reference Desk Phone: 526-3687
Reference Staff:
Research Consultants: Beth Krajewski, Erica Webb, Merry Armentrout
College Librarian: Carrie Thomas
Reference Librarian: Sondra VanderPloeg
College Archivist: Kelli Bogan
Off campus?
To get access to library resources when you are off campus, sign in here.



Loading content... please wait
