English Course Guides
by Sondra VanderPloeg - last updated on Jan 25, 2012
This Library Guide is designed to help you find scholarly resources for research assignments in ENG 317 with Prof. Fiona Mills.
by Merry Armentrout, Sondra VanderPloeg - last updated on Jan 30, 2012
This library guide is designed in conjunction with the Group Presentation Assignment for ENG 247 with Dr. Fiona Mills.
Find Books
Most literature books in english are classified under P(Language and Literature) and can be found in the 'quiet barn' on the library's main level.
To search for a book, click on the Library Catalog link below. Using the General Keyword search is most like searching for items through Google.
Find English Courses and the English Department
Off Campus Link
- Juniper NetworkOff campus? Link to the library catalog and databases through the Juniper Network.
Find Online Encyclopedias for entries on Language and Literature
Start here for background research about your topic. Inform yourself of the basics before you enter the "conversation among experts" in scholarly journals.
- Credo ReferenceA collection of online Reference Books; find quick answers or in-depth background information
- Encyclopedia of Women's FolkloreEntries discuss the beliefs and customs defining the life of women around the world
- Funk & Wagnalls New World EncyclopediaProvides over 25000 encyclopedic entries
- Oxford English DictionaryPublished by the Oxford University Press
- Oxford Reference OnlineElectronic versions of some specialized reference titles
Find Print Encyclopedias for Language and Literature
Find these encyclopedias in the Reference Collection on the main floor of the library. These books cannot be checked out, so you'll have to do your research during library hours.
- A Dictionary of Literary SymbolsCall Number: REF: PN56.S9 F47 1999
- African WritersCall Number: REF: PL 8010 .A453 1997
- Ancient Writers: Greece and RomeCall Number: REF: PA3002 .A5 1982
- Anthology of World LiteratureCall Number: REF: PN 6013 .L66 2009
- Best Books for ChildrenCall Number: REF: PN 59 .Z5 B48 2002
- Character Sketches of Romance, Fiction, and DramaCall Number: REF: PN43 .B73
- Dostoevsky EncyclopediaCall Number: REF: PG3328.A09 L36 2004
- Encyclopedia of FantasyCall Number: REF: PN3435 .E53 1997
- Encyclopedia of Life WritingCall Number: REF: CT21 .E53 2001
- Encyclopedia of Swearing: A History of oaths, profanity, foul language, and ethnic slurs in the English-speaking worldCall Number: REF: PE3724.O3 H84
- Modern Japanese NovelistsCall Number: REF: PL747.55 .L48 1993
- Oxford Dictionary of Nursery RhymesCall Number: REF: PN 6110 .C4 1997
- Oxford Rhyming DictionaryCall Number: REF: PE1519 .U67 2004
Research Consultant |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Research Help @ Cleveland Library
Reference Desk Hours:
Mon - Thurs 9am - 9pm
Friday 9am - 6pm
Sunday 12pm - 9pm
Reference Desk Phone: 526-3687
Reference Staff:
Research Consultants: Beth Krajewski, Erica Webb, Merry Armentrout
College Librarian: Carrie Thomas
Reference Librarian: Sondra VanderPloeg
College Archivist: Kelli Bogan


Loading content... please wait
