Find Books
Most education books are classified in the L's
LB Theory and Practice of Education
LC Special Aspects of Education
and can be found on the upper level of the barn, and in the Oversize and Reference Collections on the library's main level. Resources for student teachers are found in the Curriculum Lab, on level 2, behind the circulation desk.
Try using "Subject Browse" from the drop-down menu with one of the following search terms:
• Education
• Learning
• Students
• Literacy
• Teaching
• Educational tests and Measurement
or try your own words in a general keyword search.
Online Textbooks
Helpful resources for Secondary School student teaching
Find Online Books and Specialty Encyclopedias for Education
Start here for background research about your topic. Inform yourself before you enter the "conversation among experts" in scholarly journals. Remember, encyclopedias are only the beginning of the research process. Start here but don't stop here!
- Credo ReferenceColby-Sawyer's answer to Wikipedia, start here for background information about schools, history of education, child development and psychology
- CQ ResearcherThis weekly source covers current and controversial issues of the day. It provides summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and more.
- eBooks on EBSCOhostA collection of e-books in many disciplines, including the social and natural sciences
Find Print Encyclopedias for Education
Find these encyclopedias in the library . . . they are in the Reference collection on the main floor and cannot be checked out, so you'll have to do your research during library hours. Remember, these encyclopedias are a good place to start your research, but don't stop with the information you find here, use it to guide your search for articles on your topic.
- Child DevelopmentCall Number: REF HQ772 .C436 2002
- Early Childhood Education: An International EncyclopediaCall Number: REF LB 1139.23 .E272 2007
- Encyclopedia of EducationCall Number: REF LB15 .E47 2003
- Encyclopedia of Education and Human DevelopmentCall Number: REF LB15 .E473 2005
- Handbook of Research on Multicultural EducationCall Number: REF LC1099.3 .H35 2004
- Encyclopedia of Educational ResearchCall Number: REF LB15 .E48 1992
- Handbook of Early Childhood LiteracyCall Number: GEN LB1139.5.L35 H363 2003
Research Consultant |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Research Help @ Cleveland Library
Reference Desk Hours:
Mon - Thurs 9am - 9pm
Friday 9am - 6pm
Sunday 12pm - 9pm
Reference Desk Phone: 526-3687
Reference Staff:
Research Consultants: Beth Krajewski, Erica Webb, Merry Armentrout
College Librarian: Carrie Thomas
Reference Librarian: Sondra VanderPloeg
College Archivist: Kelli Bogan
Off campus?
To get access to library resources when you are off campus, sign in here.



Loading content... please wait
