Find Books
Most booksin Communications Studies are classified under P and can be found on the main level of the barn, and in the Reference Collection on the library's main level.
Find Communication Studies Courses and Department @ CSC
Off campus?
To get access to library resources when you are off campus, sign in here.
Find Online Encyclopedias in Communication Studies
Start here for background research about your topic. Inform yourself of the basics before you enter the "conversation among experts" in scholarly journals.
- American National Biography OnlineBiographies of prominent Americans
- Credo ReferenceA collection of online Reference Books; find quick answers or in-depth background information
- Funk & Wagnalls New World EncyclopediaProvides over 25000 encyclopedic entries
- Oxford Reference OnlineElectronic versions of some specialized reference titles
Find Print Encyclopedias for Communication Studies
Find these encyclopedias in the Reference Collection on the main floor of the library. These books cannot be checked out, so you'll have to do your research during library hours.
- American Orators of the Twentieth Century : Critical Studies and Sources / - Bernard K. Duffy and Halford R. Ryan.Call Number: PN4193.P6 A44 1987
- Encyclopedia of Documentary FilmCall Number: REF: PN1995.9.D6 E53 2006
- Encyclopedia of Swearing: A History of oaths, profanity, foul language, and ethnic slurs in the English-speaking worldCall Number: REF: PE3724.O3 H84
- Film Noir: An Encyclopedic Reference to the American StyleCall Number: REF: PN1993.5.U6 F5
- On the Air: the Encyclopedia of Old-Time RadioCall Number: REF: PN1991.3.U6 D8 1998
- Swinging on the Ether Waves: a Chronological History of African Americans in Radio and Television Broadcasting, 1925 - 1955Call Number: REF: PN1991.8.A35 S36 2005
- The Encyclopedia of Horror MoviesCall Number: REF: PN1995.9.H6 M5 1986
- The New York Times Guide to the Best 1000 Movies Ever MadeCall Number: REF: PN1995 .C343 1999
- The Yale Book of Quotations - Editor Fred R. Shapiro ; foreword by Joseph EpsteinCall Number: PN 6081 .Y35 2006
- Women and American Television: An EncyclopediaCall Number: REF: PN1992.8.W65 L69 1999
Research Consultant |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Research Help @ Cleveland Library
Reference Desk Hours:
Mon - Thurs 9am - 9pm
Friday 9am - 6pm
Sunday 12pm - 9pm
Reference Desk Phone: 526-3687
Reference Staff:
Research Consultants: Beth Krajewski, Erica Webb, Merry Armentrout
College Librarian: Carrie Thomas
Reference Librarian: Sondra VanderPloeg
College Archivist: Kelli Bogan


Loading content... please wait
