Biology Course Guides
by Sondra VanderPloeg, Carrie Thomas, Beth Krajewski, Erica Webb, Merry Armentrout - last updated on Jan 20, 2012
This Library Guide is designed to help you with the research process for your semester-long Research Project
Find Books
Most biology books are classified under:
Q (science)
R (medicine)
S (agriculture)
and can be found on the main level (Q) or lower level (R & S) of the barns, as well as in the Oversize and Reference Collections.
Try using subject browse from the drop-down menu with one of the following search terms:
- biology
- physiology
- genetics
- natural history
- evolution
- anatomy
- molecular biology
- ecology
.... or try your own words in a general keyword search.
Find Online Encyclopedias for Biology
Start here for background research about your topic. Inform yourself of the basics before you enter the "conversation among experts" in scholarly journals. Remember, encyclopedias are only the beginning of the research process. Start here but don't stop here!
- Access Science EncyclopediaFull-text science encyclopedia articles, biographies, bibliographies, videos, animations, news, study guides
- Credo ReferenceA collection of online Reference Books; find quick answers or in-depth background information
Find Print Encyclopedias for Biology
Find these encyclopedias in the Reference Collection on the main floor of the library. These books cannot be checked out, so you'll have to do your research during library hours. Remember, these encyclopedias are a good place to start your research, but don't stop with the information you find here, use it to guide your search for articles on your topic.
- Amazing numbers in biologyCall Number: QH310 .F4413 2006
- Grzimek's animal life encyclopediaCall Number: QL7 .G7813 2003
- Encyclopedia of human biologyCall Number: QP11 .E53 1991
- Flora of North AmericaCall Number: QK110 .F55 1993
- Encyclopedia of geneticsCall Number: QH427 .E53 2001
- Encyclopedia of human-animal relationshipsCall Number: QL85 .E53 2007
- The Sibley guide to bird life & behaviorCall Number: QL681 .S495 2001
- The Sibley guide to treesCall Number: QK475 .S497 2009
- Insects : their natural history and diversityCall Number: QL473 .M33 2006
- The atlas of foodCall Number: G 1046 .M8 M55 2008
Off campus?
To get access to library resources when you are off campus, sign in here.
Research Help @ Cleveland Library
Reference Desk Hours:
Mon - Thurs 9am - 9pm
Friday 9am - 6pm
Sunday 12pm - 9pm
Reference Desk Phone: 526-3687
Reference Staff:
Research Consultants: Beth Krajewski, Erica Webb, Merry Armentrout
College Librarian: Carrie Thomas
Reference Librarian: Sondra VanderPloeg
College Archivist: Kelli Bogan


Loading content... please wait
