Course Guides
by Sondra VanderPloeg - last updated on Dec 15, 2011
This guide was created to help you with research for the written assignments in Prof. Jane Prophet's ART 100 class.
Find Books
Most art history books are classified in the N's, history of design books may be in the T’s
N Visual Arts
NA Architecture
NB Sculpture
ND Painting
NE Print Media
NK Design History
TS Design
TR Photography
and can be found on the main level of the barn, and in the Oversize and Reference Collections on the library's main level.
Try using "Subject Browse" from the drop-down menu with one of the following search terms:
art, China (or Japan, or India, or any other country)
artists
graphic arts
architecture
impressionism
realism
cubism
modernism
art modern -- 20th Century
post-modernism
design
To find books about a particular artist, try searching for the artist (picasso, pablo) as a subject or author in the library catalog, or try the artist as a keyword search (pablo picasso).
Interlibrary Loan
If we do not have what you are looking for, we will attempt to get a copy for you from another library. Please note that this process can take anytime up to two weeks, so manage your research time accordingly. Please refer to the links below to submit an inter-library loan request, making sure that you fill in the forms completely, including your Colby-Sawyer e-mail address.
Inter-library loan is only available to Colby-Sawyer students, faculty and staff.
Researching Art History at Dartmouth
Dartmouth College has an entire library devoted to Art and Art History, if you are unable to find information about your topic using Colby-Sawyer resources, try searching these collections. (some resources only accessible in Hanover)
Find online Videos about Art
- Academic Video OnlineNewsreels, animation, documentaries . . . search for a specific subject or browse the Art & Architecture or History collections. You can embed links to these videos into a presentation too!
Find Online Books and Specialty Encyclopedias for Art History
Start here for background research about your topic. Inform yourself before you enter the "conversation among experts" in scholarly journals. Remember, encyclopedias are only the beginning of the research process. Start here but don't stop here!
- Grove Art OnlineA specialty database for art and art history, includes biographies, subject entries, images and timelines
- African American ExperienceA full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of African Americans, as well as the greater Black Diaspora
- Credo ReferenceColby-Sawyer's answer to Wikipedia, try the concept search to brainstorm related topics
- Daily Life through HistoryLife in the Ancient World to present day, includes information on domestic life, work, recreation and leisure. Click on ERAS for an overview or IDEA EXCHANGE for debates among scholars.
- World at WarTry an advanced search for "art" -- click on the the time period of interest to limit your responses -- find information about art and artists responding to war, creating propaganda, and more
- American National Biography OnlineBiographies of prominent Americans
- Oxford Reference OnlineClick on Art & Architecture and search in several online specialty encyclopedias.
- Pop Culture UniverseIcons | Idols | Ideas (PCU) digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present
Find Print Encyclopedias for Art History
Find these encyclopedias in the library . . . they are in the Reference collection on the main floor and cannot be checked out, so you'll have to do your research during library hours. Remember, these encyclopedias are a good place to start your research, but don't stop with the information you find here, use it to guide your search for articles on your topic.
- The Dictionary of ArtCall Number: REF N31 .D5 1996
- Encyclopedia of American ArchitectureCall Number: REF NA705 .H86
- Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & ArchitectureCall Number: REF N 5610 .G76 2007
- Dictionary of Modern DesignCall Number: REF NK1165 .W66 2004
- Encyclopedia of World ArtCall Number: N31 .E533
- Chronology of World HistoryCall Number: REF D11 .M39 1999
- Encyclopedia of Asian HistoryCall Number: REF DS31 .E53 1988
Reference Librarian |
Contact Info: svanderploeg@colby-sawyer.edu Room 301-F Susan C. Cleveland Library 603-526-3375 Send Email |
Off campus?
To get access to library resources when you are off campus, sign in here.
Research Help @ Cleveland Library
Reference Desk Hours:
Mon - Thurs 9am - 9pm
Friday 9am - 6pm
Sunday 12pm - 9pm
Reference Desk Phone: 526-3687
Reference Staff:
Research Consultants: Beth Krajewski, Erica Webb, Merry Armentrout
College Librarian: Carrie Thomas
Reference Librarian: Sondra VanderPloeg
College Archivist: Kelli Bogan



Loading content... please wait
