Fine & Performing Arts Course Guides
Find Books
Art books are found in the on the main and lower levels of the barn, in the N's, T's, Z's
N Visual Arts
NA Architecture
NB Sculpture
ND Painting
NE Print Media
TR Photography
TT Ceramics
Z Typography
There are also many Art books in the Oversize collection on the main level.
Try using "Subject Browse" from the drop-down menu with one of the following search terms:
• art
• artists
• graphic arts
• architecture
• sculpture
• painting
• design
• photography, artistic
• ceramics
• pottery
To find books about a particular artist, try searching for the artist (picasso, pablo) as a subject or author in the library catalog, or try the artist as a keyword search (pablo picasso).
Find online videos about art
- Academic Video OnlineNewsreels, animation, documentaries . . . search for a specific subject or browse the Art & Architecture or History collections. You can embed links to these videos into a presentation too!
Find Online Books and Specialty Encyclopedias for Art
Start here for background research about your topic. Inform yourself before you enter the "conversation among experts" in scholarly journals.
- Grove Art OnlineA specialty database for art and art history, includes biographies, subject entries, images and timelines
- African American ExperienceA full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of African Americans, as well as the greater Black Diaspora
- Credo ReferenceColby-Sawyer's answer to Wikipedia, try the concept search to brainstorm related topics
- Oxford Reference OnlineClick on Art & Architecture and search in several online specialty encyclopedias.
- Pop Culture UniverseIcons | Idols | Ideas (PCU) digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present
Find Print Encyclopedias for Art
Find these encyclopedias in the library . . . they are in the Reference collection on the main floor and cannot be checked out, so you'll have to do your research during library hours.
- Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century PhotographyCall Number: REF TR 642 .E5 2006
- Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century PhotographyCall Number: REF TR 9 .H25 2008
- Photographer's MarketCall Number: REF TR 12 .P515 2009
- The Design EncyclopediaCall Number: REF NK1370 .B93 2004
- The Sculpture Reference Illustrated:Call Number: REF NB1170 .W55 2005
- 1000 Symbols: What Shape Means in Art & MythCall Number: REF N7740 .S54 2002
Reference Librarian |
Contact Info: svanderploeg@colby-sawyer.edu Room 301-F Susan C. Cleveland Library 603-526-3375 Send Email |
Off campus?
To get access to library resources when you are off campus, sign in here.
Research Help @ CSC Library
Reference Desk Hours:
Mon - Thurs 9am - 9pm
Friday 9am - 6pm
Sunday 12pm - 9pm
Reference Desk Phone: 526-3687
Reference Staff:
Research Consultants: Beth Krajewski, Erica Webb, Merry Armentrout
College Librarian: Carrie Thomas
Reference Librarian: Sondra VanderPloeg
College Archivist: Kelli Bogan



Loading content... please wait
